OMG, you guys!

PSA: We’re still collecting for the 2011 US Bicycle Route System fundraiser for national bike month. Please visit the GEB team page and donate $10 today. It’s only a few bucks to help out a great cause that will enhance bike tourism all over this amazing country. Studies show a project like this is good for personal fitness and regional economy.

Please? Pretty please? I ain’t too proud to beg..


I am so freakin happy today! The sun is shining, the trees are green and I am loving this springtime so much!

I’m feeling really good about my time at the gym last night. I spent 40 minutes on the elliptical trying to avoid eye-contact with the baseball game, for that may simply bore me to death right there during cardio – instead my eyes danced back and forth between the Biggest Loser and Dancing with the Stars (while the BL was on commercial, I’m not a sequins-and-ball room kinda gal). The Biggest Loser’s Subway advertising campaign was successful, because that is what I’m going to get for lunch today.

 Anywhoo – here’s the big reason why I am so excited!! Last night I identified the best NJ Transit bus route to combine with the bike for my work commute. While I am physically capable of an unassisted commute from my home to my work (15.8 miles each way) there is one long stretch of road that I really don’t want to ride on at night. There are few lights and drivers regularly hit 55 mph on this route. Whether they should or not is irrelevant – I get out of work late enough that it may be completely dark on that portion of the road and it just takes one texting teenager to end it all. I simply don’t want to put my life in someone else’s hands like that.

So I have spent the past week or so scouring the NJ Transit’s super user-friendly website (insert hint of sarcasm here) to figure out the best and least annoying transportation options to get me from point B to point C and cut out that really uncomfortable portion.

I’m going to a wedding on Friday in Upstate NY (more on this in moments) and will come home Saturday evening – so perhaps I can do a test run on Sunday, just in time for Bike-to-Work week! Now all I need is to learn how the bike racks on the front of the busses work and for the weather to relatively cooperate. :)

Since I’m going to be out-of-town on Friday and Saturday, I think I’m going to have an abbreviated week and weigh-in tomorrow. The jury is still out on that one, but it’s looking like that’s the best option in this instance.

Anyway, I have many, many reasons to be psyched – how about you? What are you loving about life today??

About cat caperello

Writer, bike nerd, open road enthusiast.
This entry was posted in bicycle, bike, Causes, choice, choose, commute, Fitness, Fundraising, Gym, Health, Healthy, motivation, Ride, Tour, Travel, U.S.B.R.S, US Bicycle Route System, Weigh in, Weight loss, Work out, work place, Work-out and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?